• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Just got my first Tarantula

Kurt Nelson

3 Year Member
So clearly I am new to owning Tarantula's to begin with so first off greetings and what awesome creatures they are. I have done some research but I'm a little worried. The guy at the pet store told me to feed it 5 crickets, but instead I got it some worms because I was a little afraid of cricket breakouts and whatnot. I put about 4 in because the worms have burrowed into the coconut husk stuff I have put down for it.

I'm pretty sure it's on it's first worm, I haven't dug around for any and it hasn't really moved since I got it.. that being yesterday, but it seems to still be eating the worm after 24 hours. It has got a nice little silk web going on and seems to have its face buried in it. I'm just wondering if this is normal.

It's a pink toed tarantula, very gorgeous and seems pretty young still. I have named it sir legsalot for kicks lol. Only name my girlfriend would let me name it. She didn't even want me to get it, but I put my foot down!

As soon as it molts I'll be posting more pictures for you guys to help with sexing it.

Attached are pictures of it.

photo1.jpg

photo2.jpg

photo3.jpg

Nada

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Welcome aboard Kurt.
Unfortunately, Pet-stores are a wealth of mis-information. You never want to feed your Tarantula more than 1 prey item at a time, and you want to remove any un-eaten prey after 24 hours.
As far as your housing, Tanks are really poor enclosures for a Avicularia(pink toe). It's very hard to keep heat and humidity high in them. you'd be better with a nice clear Food storage bin, with holes drilled into the side.
Eating a prey item for 24 hours is nothing to worry about.