• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

vahurst

3 Year Member
Hi everyone,

I'm a high school science teacher, and was given a tarantula today by someone who was given an ultimatum by their wife to get rid of it. I don't know the guy that had it (friend of another teacher at the school), so I am hoping you all can help me out a bit. I think this little guy (or gal, again, why I need a little help), is super cool, and will make a great class pet. A couple questions:

1. what species is it? I think it is a chilean rose, but I am new to this. I attached a pic.

2. What is the best sized cage and substrate for it? Right now it is in a 8x12 carrying cage. I have a 10 and a 20 gallon aquarium I can use. The substrate in there now looks like pine mulch, and has been turned into a big pile of silk/mulch mixture, except one bare corner where the spider likes to sit (it stayed there much of the day, however, i imagine he is a bit stressed) I gave him a old marker box to hide in, but he hasnt used it yet.

3. What to feed and how much? I was told the spider molted about a week and a half ago and hasn't been fed since. I offered it a couple mealworms I had and it pounced and ate them immediately. What I have read has ranged from a couple mealworms or crickets 2 to 3 times a week, to 1 cricket once a week. Can I feed it ****roaches? (if so, my old school will be a never ending food source!)

Thanks in advance! I am looking forward to several years with my new friend. If there is anything else I should know I'd appreciate it.

Attachments

• IMAG0351.jpg
    IMAG0351.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 21

DalilahBlue

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member