• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My worst nightmare: Tarantula Gifted to me

Sycohearted

Hi everyone,
I am brand new to the T-Community but I have been researching on and off for about 5+ years, And today I was thrusted into the community and...I'm a bit frustrated and stressed by it. I am a person who spends years researching and collecting supplies for an animal before getting it and right now I'm in the deep end and drowning.
My favorite species since I was a child was the Brachypelma Hamorii...And today my sister gifted me a belated birthday gift- I'm sure you can guess what it was...

Well, despite my research I still was not ready or prepared for this animal and now I desperately need a list of must-haves for Tarantulas as well as enclosure recommendations. I think the critter keeper she gave him to me in is too big for him right now, I could be wrong but sizing, feeding, temperature and whether to mist or not are my biggest weakpoints. I REALLY think he needs more substrate in the enclosure and I want to get him so cork bark so he can properly hide/burrow.

I'm here to learn so bombs away, guys. Thank you in advanced.

This is what I am working with:
EDIT: As you can see he came in the cup that she put the crickets in.

60186293_2229135120466612_6504641267287195648_o.jpg

60114150_2229131543800303_6358288336825614336_n.jpg

Arachnoclown

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Congratulations on your new pet. I think the enclosure will be fine and the substrate depth looks good. I does look too wet though. They like dry substrate. I would add a water dish and a piece of cork bark and your good to go. The substrate with dry out pretty fast. Just over flow the water dish once a week and that will be fine.

Sycohearted