• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Are these male Pedipalps on my P. scrofa? (Photo)

scrible

3 Year Member
My fairly recently acquired P. scrofa is only about 2 inches in diameter, so I am hoping it is not a mature male. I have taken a photo of the front pedipalps, and it appears that there are very small black bulbous appendages on the ends, that can only be seen when it has its legs up in the air. Since I am a newbie, I am not familiar with what a female (or immature male) front legs look like, so I am trying to grasp what i am looking at. Sorry for the poor photo, this is the best I could get of its front legs when it was up in the corner of its enclosure.

Ped.jpg Peaches1.jpg

Last edited:

Martin Oosthuysen

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
My fairly recently acquired P. scrofa is only about 2 inches in diameter, so I am hoping it is not a mature male. I have taken a photo of the front pedipalps, and it appears that there are very small black bulbous appendages on the ends, that can only be seen when it has its legs up in the air. Since I am a newbie, I am not familiar with what a female (or immature male) front legs look like, so I am trying to grasp what i am looking at. Sorry for the poor photo, this is the best I could get of its front legs when it was up in the corner of its enclosure.

View attachment 8040 View attachment 8041
Hello
If I am seeing correctly,I see the tibial hooks as well so indeed it is a male specimen.

scrible

3 Year Member