• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Worried About My Tarantula

CC_123409

Hey, so I'm a new owner of a Chaco Golden Knee, Goldie, who I've had for about a month now. Since I'm new to tarantula keeping, I may say some wrong things and I apologize. The problem I have is that we have a small piece of bark, maybe about 3x4 inches, with a small hole on top. About 2 weeks ago, my tarantula went under this bark and proceeded to fill up any and all openings with holes, except for the small hole on top. She is a sling, maybe .75 to 1 inch leg span, so I know molting is a common thing at the age, and we think it might be that she is just in pre molt, but I don't know how long this specific species stays in that phase. We can see a small amount of webbing around it, but we don't see her. We know she is in there, she just doesn't come out. Another thing is that I'm not sure how big of a space they needs to molt, and the log has about an inch of space up and 2 inches across either way for movement, but I have seen her in the roof. I was just worried if she was ok, or if i should be worried about this strange behavior. I'm hoping it's pre molt, but I don't know specific details about it. Any and all advice would be very helpful. Thanks.

Dave Jay

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member