• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Something NOT to do?

Zaiaku

3 Year Member
So I was trying to find a good video of someone handling a Nhandu Chromatus to show a friend how big my little Vivian will get and came across this video. Now I'm pretty new to having a T and I have handled a few with friends who know what they are doing and actually hope Vivian will be ok with being handled once in a while. I understand the risks and have a strong respect for these very large and amazing spiders. I'd be more worried about hurting my T than being bitten myself. But....something about this video screams to me this is very wrong. If a T is showing its threat posture, making quick sprints away and such those are clear signs of being stressed and completely uncomfortable with the situation. And less defensive T's bite as a very last resort right? I mean is it were an OBT for instance or probably any Old World Trade that person would have beven bitten 100 times doing such a thing.

Am I wrong in feeling this way? I know spiders do not "get used" to their owners and do not understand nor need physical touch and such. To me this is like smacking around a large docile dog and thinking it's ok cause it only bared it's teeth but didn't bite. Have you guys seen this video before? I just want to understando more why this person was not bitten numerous times! Anyway sorry here is the Video let me know why you guys think and such.