• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to the hobby

Costa cam

Hello to whoever sees this I was wondering for it was a right choice to get a Costa Rican zebra also known as Aphonopelma Seemanni. I’m new to this stuff and I don’t think i made the right choice on what spider to get I got this one no knowing there were skiddish and very fast. I’m a little stupid I’m worrying that i might kill her I have absolutely no clew what to feed her she’s a spiderling I don’t think I made the right choice. Do u have any advice?

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi and welcome. :)
First of all calm down. You can cope with any T if you know what it's capable of.
Can you post a photo of your T and it's container? That way we can give you better advice.
I feed all my Ts on crickets, a sling will usually eat a small one every 5-7 days without any problem.

Costa cam

Thank you but I don’t have her just yet my dad ordered her off of fearnottarantulas they only ship on Tuesday and Wednesday’s but I’m just scared cause I don’t have a good history with keeping pets I had two bearded dragons they both died I’m just a little nervous cause I don’t want to kill anything else she is going to be a spiderling I think but I’m not sure is a spiderling going to be able to eat a cricket?

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hello, welcome to the forum & the hobby. The Aphonopelma Seemanni is a beautiful T & normally a very well behaved one too. It is a great way to get into the hobby.

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Welcome to the Forum!