• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to the Hobby

Hey You!
Yeah, you reading this. My name is Ellie. I have been researching all year (since Feb 2020) on getting my first tarantula but I still cannot choose! I really love the Gooty and its beauty but I want to be able to see my cute eight-legged friend at least once a day. I also cannot decide if I should start with a dwarf old new world or a large goliath bird eater. Ugggh I would like to have all of them but I want to have experience with raising a sling to juvenile into adulthood so I know what to expect before starting a small collection. I will be making his/her enclosure bioactive and I breed my own insects as I have bearded dragons and leopard geckos. I also breed mice for my snakes as well. Sometimes I have stillborns and I know some of the larger tarantulas will eat them so their life won't just go to waste. Needless to say, my new baby will have plenty of nutritional food to eat. Anyway, I am finally ready to get my first creepy crawler. Anyone have suggestions? Advice?

Konstantin

3 Year Member
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Keeping tarantulas is very different from keeping reptiles.Its good to hear that you have done some research on them.I will recommend for you to start with New world terrestrial as they are more manageable than OW or even dwarfs as those can be very fast and skittish.Also NW terrestrials are more visible once they put some size.Almost all slings will hide away till put some size to them so avoid oversized enclosures when they are small to be able to keep track on them easier.
T.albopilosus,Grammostola Pulchripes, any Brachypelma or even Lasiodora Parahybana can make great first tarantula .Brachypelmas do grow a little on the slow side.
Regards Konstantin

WolfSpider

1,000+ Post Club