• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Lasiodora parahybana questions

Dave S

3 Year Member
Hey all.,
I'm looking to expand my collection. I was thinking about getting a Lasiodora parahybana. I've looked online at the different sites and care sheets.
So far I'm gathering mild venom, big fangs slightly skiddish not aggressive the hairs can be painful.
Good life span and eating habits.

What else can anyone tell me about them? Your experience is all I really have to rely on to knew what I'm in for.
thanks

HungryGhost

3 Year Member
They grow like weeds! I've heard you can get one as a tiny sling and have it reach 6" in a year. I picked up a sling in February and it's molted 6 times already. I have no experience with larger specimens as this is my first. Oh and they are eating machines.:)

StoptheInsanity

3 Year Member
I have two Salmon Birdeaters, one medium size and one Juvie...They are really nice...My juvie is in view all the time...My medium size is in view most of the time...They are sweet and not easily spooked...At least mine are that way...A good choice...I love all the large Ts...Haven't been attacked by any, as yet...I always give warning of three taps before I open their lids...None has ever kicked off their hairs at me...Even my Goliaths...I have the T Blondi, and a Pink foot Goliath...I've been looking for a Stirmi if anyone has one...Anyway, good luck

Tomoran

3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member