• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Former Arachnophobe, current arachnophiliac

AHM76

3 Year Member
Hello, so I’m really new to this hobby, it’s been about 2 months since I got my first T which was a L. Parahybana sling, then my next purchase was 4 more T’s - brachy.albo. Female juvie, and g. Pulchripes, GBB and h. Incei gold form slings. Next purchase was acanthoscurria geniculata and another GBB both female juveniles, a PZB sling, euathlus sp. red sling and a brachy albo sling. In short, I am addicted! I have so many more on my wish list I already know we’re going to need to designate a whole room in our house as a T room, lol. It’s funny because I was terrified, I mean genuinely phobic of spiders like small house spiders never mind tarantulas!! But I always found spiders to be so fascinating and my interest grew and eventually I realized my fear was completely irrational so I decided to face my fear instead of avoiding it which is hard to do when you live in Texas next to a large forest and have 8 legged unwelcome visitors every spring and summer in your house. I could go on and on but suffice it to say now I love ‘em, wondering why I didn’t get some long ago instead of 4 dogs, I think my T’s are super cute, and I’m really excited to have discovered this fun and rewarding hobby. I’ll try to post some pics soon...
I’m glad to have joined the forum!

AHM76

3 Year Member
I should add that although my T’s are all New World species I’ll really be proud of myself once I’m brave enough to own some Old Worlds, not that I would ever handle them like I have with a couple of my NWs! Just from what I’ve seen and read, I’m not sure I’ll ever want to own an OBT though..

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member