• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Dwarf species as beginner species?

Knitten

Hi all.

I would like to get a dwarf T as a starter because, since I used to have a really irrational fear of spiders, (not anymore, hence wanting to start in the hobby) I'm kinda worried the 'regular' ones will be a bit intimidating to me in size to start with.

I love the Cyriocosmus Elegans because of it's heart butt, obviously. (I'm a bit of a girly girl :p)
So I wondered if that's a good beginner species.
In a chat group I'm in someone recommended the Cyriocosmus Chicoi because of it's slightly bigger size, and smaller T's being more fragile. (And since I'm a beginner, I obviously don't want to hurt it.)
I'm looking into what kind of dwarf species there are, and what the members of this forum can recommend me.

Also, what are the bare necessities for keeping a T, apart from housing, substrate, and feed items?
And what do you use as substrate, and what would you recommend to a beginner?

Thanks in advance!

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Homeomma Chilensis (Chilie Flame) are on my very short want list. They are at the top end of Dwarf growing to about 8cm, (3inch.) And have a real personality. They are slow moving & very docile. I believe they are not known to either bite or flick hairs, so a great first T & the more I have read about them, the more I have wanted one & they are a beautiful T too.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member