• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Tliltocatl vagans Spun web mat but won’t molt

NeverBeenBasic

Hi I’m fairly new to the arachnid world and very new to the forum thank you for having me . I own a Tliltocatl vagans that I’ve had for 2 years now . Leg span is maybe 3+1/2” . It hasn’t eaten in a while and it got sluggish so I assumed it’s premolt but her abdomen is shrinking slightly . Yesterday morning I woke up to it spinning a web mat while it was upside down so I was almost positive it was going to molt but it didn’t . It later layed on top of the mat all day until night then it’s looking for areas to escape its enclosure . I keep a fresh water dish in the enclosure and I usually feed crickets or Dubai roaches . It used to be a ferocious eater and for maybe the last month and a half it hasn’t touched anything . Its developed a bald spot on its abdomen a week ago . I’ve been doing a lot of research and it all tells me to leave it alone and make sure it has water but I’d like hear anyone else’s input i Love to learn and I want to own a healthy T . I also have a smaller curly hair and it eats great and looks great . Sorry for referring to my T as “it” so much as I haven’t sexed them . Thank you !

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi,
Sometimes it is good to be basic.
Please take a minute to introduce yourself in the proper section. As many of us are eager to chime in and help, it is fairly hard to recommend anything without being able to see your T and enclosure, please provide us with pictures at your earliest convenience and welcome to the forum.

Arachnoclown

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
20171107_113523.jpg

Sitting in his sleeping bag... ;)

NeverBeenBasic

Hi,
Sometimes it is good to be basic.