• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Tliltocatl albopilosus

Vagor Dacil

I bought my first tarantula about 11 days ago at Petco (it was marked down 75%, I would absolutely not have paid the $100 they originally wanted.) I was told that it is a Curly Hair. I was wondering if anyone would be able to tell me it’s gender and give me an approximation of about how old it might be.

I am also open to any tips or suggestions that anyone may have for a new tarantula owner.

Thank you, in advance.

CA38D94D-0E12-4FB7-9F14-2B6311761969.jpeg

x_raphael_xx

I'm no expert on ventra sexing, so hopefully someone else would wade in, but I would edge towards female.

Age etc is a lot harder to tell, as they all grow differently.

my tip would be more substrate or a shorter enclosure. Ideally you want them to be able to reach their toes to the substrate from the lid, in case they fall.

Vagor Dacil

I'm no expert on ventra sexing, so hopefully someone else would wade in, but I would edge towards female.

Age etc is a lot harder to tell, as they all grow differently.

my tip would be more substrate or a shorter enclosure. Ideally you want them to be able to reach their toes to the substrate from the lid, in case they fall.
I added a few more inches after taking that photo. It’s currently about 5 inches from the lid at it’s highest point and about 7 inches at it’s lowest point. I also moved the water dish to the high point. Thank you for your input.

octanejunkie

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Welcome, looks female

There is a ton of info about your species, husbandry and the hobby in general on this forum

Enclosure size
Substrate depth / free climbing height
Hydration needs (water bowl always, damp substrate at best)
Feeding (what, when, how often)
Handling (never)