• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Thrixopelma ockerti ??

Kymura

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Considering one of these but finding mixed care sheets and info,
some say terrestrial others say semi arboreal
anyone here have one that can give me correct info,

remembering I'm new to owning T's

Entity

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Its also called the peruvian tree spider so that name suggests arboreal...but im am no expert. ive always heard they were burrowers...lol reading back that wasnt much help at all was it...lol sorry. id like to know too. :)

timc

3 Year Member
I've never owned or had any experience with this species but if you're having trouble finding specific care requirements a good place to start is looking up its native habitat ie: country of origin, climate, geography ect... This will give you an idea of the conditions in which the spider thrives. I'm sure someone on this forum will have some species specific advice for you too though. Good luck.

MassExodus

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Never had one of those, though they are on my list. Every youtube video I've seen of them shows terrestrial enclosures, but people have been wrong about species before. Very awesome tarantula though, and gorgeous..and I believe they get pretty large, if I remember correctly. 7 or 8 inches? I could be wrong. Get back to us!

timc

3 Year Member
Alrighty, time to get off my lazy rump and do some serious research, I rather like the look of them ^^ I'll post what I find :p
Please do! I just looked it up after I posted and I must say you have me interested in that spider now too!

Fleas

3 Year Member
Ya what a great t on my want list :) it a new world arboreal here some info I got from swiftinvertsPeruvian Pink Rump (Thrixopelma ockerti)
3", $55 each, Hatched at Swift's!!