• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Theraphosa stirmi husbandry, is it a beginner species? Also other beginner species.

Steetsyeets

I am thinking of buying a tarantula and am not sure about which species to get, the theraphosa stirmi is very appealing to me but i do not really know the husbandry/tempermant, since i would like to handle it. another species that is coming to my mind is the arizona blonde. The GBB is cool as well, but i do not know the tempermant and wether they like to be handled.

i am new to the world of tarantulas so please help me
thanks!

FishermanSteve

3 Year Member
I am thinking of buying a tarantula and am not sure about which species to get, the theraphosa stirmi is very appealing to me but i do not really know the husbandry/tempermant, since i would like to handle it. another species that is coming to my mind is the arizona blonde. The GBB is cool as well, but i do not know the tempermant and wether they like to be handled.

thanks!

T. stirmi would be terrible to handle because their urticating hairs are one of the most irritating among all tarantulas. GBB also tend to be a little high strung and kick hairs. If you have your heart set on those 3, I would definitely choose the chalcodes. If I could make a suggestion it would be Grammostola pulchripes. Personally, I think they are beautiful. They are great eaters and have very good temperaments. Only downside is that they are slow growers so you may wanna pick up a juvenile if you decide to get one.

ilovebrachys

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member