• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Some concerns about enclosure

setsunadiava

Hi! I have an Acanthoscurria geniculata, she’s my first tarantula, I’ve had jumpers and a ladybird spider before but nothing as big and hairy as her. So I am a bit nervous about her care. I’m still very very new to this hobby and I guess I’ll learn from trial and error as I go, and I have already gotten some lovely advice in my introductory post.

I’m wondering if the size of the enclosure is okay? Should I go a tad bit bigger so I can fit a hide in there for her? And so I can get the soil a little deep too? Pet shop has been closed for a few days, so I can finally buy more soil tomorrow it seems. What is safe to add to her enclosure? I’ve heard some people on YouTube suggest decor from the dollar store would be okay?
I know the soil is absolutely pathetic at the moment and I want to change that asap, that’s just how I got her from the breeder and I’m very wary about how to add more. I’ve had her for a week now and she has yet to act out. But I did go ahead and get wielding goggles and some gardening gloves to decorate with the changes to the enclosure. Of course I’ll be looking at some YouTube videos for help, but since I can’t show my enclosure to the video, I thought I’d post here?
The other enclosures I did buy just in case are posted too.
I’m sorry I’ve got so many questions and some of them are rather silly.

Attachments

• 430D36E5-6DB8-426B-BDCD-CAC7AFBFB1B3.jpeg
    430D36E5-6DB8-426B-BDCD-CAC7AFBFB1B3.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 42
  • F086E8E5-88EE-442E-9EF6-8526E532A239.jpeg
    F086E8E5-88EE-442E-9EF6-8526E532A239.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 41

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member