• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Safe substrate?

Tarantulas&Cats

Just wanting some advice on tarantula substrate. Been a while for me since I'm just now returning to the hobby. Before I always used the ground coconut fiber. But now I've heard some pretty negative issues with it. I just want the best for my T's. Anyways does anyone know much about the Zoo Med Reptisoil? That's what I recently purchased for mine. Eventually I'm planning on getting the Bio Dude's soil mix. Its just not in immediate reach... i can be so impatient. (Selfish I know).

Tarantulas&Cats

Cool! Good to know. That does make me feel better about using it. Do you mind me asking, How many tarantulas you have? And how long have you been keeping them? Technically I'm not a beginner, although I've only had one in my possession since 2015, when I was basically put in a predicament to get rid of all of mine, which was around 30 or so, all different species, as well as everything for them... Lost so much money because i just gave them away. Friends & coworkers... That way I knew they'd be taken care of, cause they were all keepers themselves.They hit the jackpot! Supplies, nice metal shelves that held them... Everything, But did manage to keep one though. Still have her too. Have had her since 2004. I was seriously into the whole hobby thing for a little over a decade. I loved my spiders. Anyways, sorry for rambling on for so long... I Thank you for your opinion on the subject... Have a good one!

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I use Coconut Coir that I buy from poundland. We have around 100 T's & it gives us no problems at all.