• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Rio Grande Gold in Corner for Weeks

marmar2897

Hello,

I am new to tarantula keeping. I have a major dislike for roaches and found out years ago that spiders kill and eat roaches which started my curiosity about them. I've always wanted a tarantula so my brother bought me one this past Christmas. I brought her home on Dec. 27th and transferred her to an enclosure I had purchased for her when adopting her. It was so easy, she literally just walked right in with no trouble.

She mainly stayed in the hide. I tried feeding her twice, a week in between feeding attempts, but she refused. I tried to feed her crickets from the pet store. She mainly stayed in her hide and, one morning, I found that she had buried herself. I googled her burying herself and thought maybe she was about to molt. The guy at the pet store said she may be about to molt.

Tuca Buried.jpg

I'm calling her a female because she has the colors and markings of the female Rio Grande Gold. The guy at the store said it is very likely she is a female. I wanted a female because I would like to have my spider for a very very long time.

My boyfriend did not like the enclosure because he said it looked like a shoe box so he bought a bigger enclosure. This new enclosure has a hygrometer, a thermometer and I am able to set the temperature. This was important since my boyfriend and I were burning up at night because we were scared to turn the air down too much for fear that Tuca (her name) might freeze. I got her a heating pad attached to the side of the enclosure so when it gets below 70 degrees, it will turn on and heat it back up.

New Enclosure.jpg

Tuca New Enclosure.jpg