1. Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Recommended bedding

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by 5150, Mar 19, 2018.

1. 5150

5150 Active Member

Hi, I'm new to tarantulas and I have a question. A buddy of mine has a Mexican Red Knee and uses Zoo Med Forest Floor. I was thinking of getting a Red Knee but that bedding looks a little coarse. I have been reading that the Forest Floor is a good one to use. Any thoughts or recommendations? Thanx.

Steve S.
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2018
  2. Enn49

Enn49 Moderator Staff Member 3 Year Member 1,000+ Post Club

The most popular substrate Is coco fibre, suitable for all Ts whatever their size. You can buy it ready to use or in blocks which need to be soaked then dried out before use.
    Welcome to the forum btw.:)
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2018
    Dave Jay, 5150, Arachnoclown and 2 others like this.
  3. 5150

5150 Active Member

Thanx for the reply. I was given a large bag of the Forest Floor. Any experience with that stuff? Also, is there an advantage of the coco fibre in bricks over the ready-to-use coco? It seems that the bricks are an extra step, everything else being equal. Thanx again.
  4. Enn49

Enn49 Moderator Staff Member 3 Year Member 1,000+ Post Club

I've never used Forest Floor although I did try something similar called Spider Life that was fine for the larger Ts but too coarse for slings. I think if I only had 1 or 2 Ts I'd probably buy the ready to use coco fibre. The only time you'll need to replace the substrate is if you're rehousing to a larger container.
    5150 likes this.
  5. 5150

5150 Active Member

Gotcha. I found some of the ready-to-use coco fiber locally. I think I'll try that first. Thanx for the tip.
    Arachnoclown likes this.
  6. ALD

ALD Active Member