• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Nice idea. Bad(?) execution. Need advice.

LauraMI

3 Year Member
image.jpg
I'm new at tarantulas, but not plants & vivaria, so when I was given a sling, I immediately set up a jar w/ live Sansevaria plants, soil, & rock bottom substrate for drainage. That G. pulchripes is fine. When Husband found me a juvenile Brazilian Black I did the same for it. The spider's happy I think...eaten 3 crickets in 3 days, but it's redecorated overnight.
While I'm happy it did what it would do in a natural environment, should I be concerned/re-do the mini-viv. Display-pets yes, but pets first, & I want it to be safe & healthy.

HungryGhost

3 Year Member
I've never tried that kind of set up but I see a few problems you and your T's will/may have with it. The first problem is UV light, T's hate it and plants need it. If you have enough direct light to keep the plants alive your T's are probably not so happy. The second problem is moisture, both grammastolla T's you have might find the environment needed to keep plants alive too moist for their liking. The moisture could also cause fungus and mold that can harm your T's.
The best substrate for both of your T's would be coconut fiber kept on the dry side with a moist corner until they are big enough for a shallow water dish.
You've started with two fantastic T's, good luck with them. I'm hoping if I'm a good boy Santa will bring me a g. pulchra this year.:rolleyes:

LauraMI

3 Year Member