• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbbie

Butcher777

I am new to Tarantula Husbandry. This all started with a trip to the Jersey Shore with the grand kids a few years back. All three wanted a hermit crab. They couldn't take them home on the plane, so grandpop gets to crab sit for a few years. The crabs lasted for 3 years . Now I have a nice empty terrarium. I looked at reptiles but I saw a picture of a Mexican red knee and the wheels started turning. I read a lot the past few weeks and settled on two. A GBB and a Lasiodora Parahybana. Both 1/2-3/4 slings., ordered from Jamie's along with some B lateralis feeders.
i'm not going to use the terrarium as a primary enclosure but as a nursery that I
can maintain control of humidity and temp. It's a pretty big unit 18"x18"x20" and I'm able to get several sling or even the 4x4x6 enclosures inside comfortably. The terrarium has a heating mat on the side,I can seal it up or open it up to manage humidity and it has double front opening doors so access is great. I am 71 and recovering from a stroke in 2012 that resulted in me being left side weak. My left arm and hand can't do much but I get by with one functional arm. Getting this all set up will be a challenge but i have a son who is a middle school science teacher and he is just excited as I am. Wife not so much.

tarantulas118