• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New owner here

somedude

Hello everyone, I have a pink toe T (Avicularia avicularia) that I got for Christmas. It's my first time owning and I'm very happy so far I just hope my T is happy as well. I have some pics of my setup, any helpful advice is definitely welcome since all I've had for advice is the pet shop I bought it from and after reading up on this site I have second thoughts but thats pretty usual for anything I do so ill wait and see what you guys have to say I look forward to hearing from you guys and am happy to be here...I have read that the dirty web, which just went up a few days ago, is pre-molt behavior which i really hope goes well.....I do have one question about these tiny white rocks that are showing up in the substrate, it isn't in the bag it came from so I'm not sure what it is or if it's harmful if anyone could please give me some knowledge on that I would really appreciate it

Attachments

• 20220312_112055.jpg
    20220312_112055.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 36
  • 20220312_111809.jpg
    20220312_111809.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 36
  • 20220109_171048.jpg
    20220109_171048.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 36

Cor

Tarantula Club Member
Hi and welcome! That's a very nice Avicularia that you have. They're arboreal tarantulas, so they'll be more tree spiders than ground spiders. You may wish to get an enclosure that's taller, but not as wide. Lay some cork bark up the height of the enclosure for the tarantula to climb up, and give it some fake plants (or real if you want to tend to them as well) for it to put some anchor points. The enclosure you have now looks like it is much more suited for a larger terrestrial (ground) spider. Save that enclosure for your next spider.

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member