• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Looking at getting my first arboreol t

AndrewBush89

3 Year Member
Hey everyone I've got 6 terrestrial t's 2 b. Albophilosum slings 2 g rosea 1 salmon pink bird eater and 1 obt. But I'm looking at getting a arboreol and want some suggestions I'm still very new to t's only like 4 or 5 months exp so I'm trying to find one that's reletivly easy to care for and not a ow species.

MassExodus

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hi. I recommend any Avicularia, any Psalmopeous, and Thrixopelma ockerti. And of course I recommend researching whatever you decide to buy, thoroughly, but I'm sure you know that already.:) My personal favorite arboreals are my Avic versicolors. My P irminia and my Poecilotherias hide too much. Plus the versis are prettier.:D

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Poecilotheria are beautiful and they're a good display species as most tend to stay out in the open the majority of the time. If you're wanting something with less potent venom, I'd recommend P.cambridgei or pretty much any Avicularia. Iridopelma are cool, but they're a lot less common. However you may want to try your luck with finding one anyway.

AndrewBush89

3 Year Member
The only reason I'm worried about going with a avic is I've heard quiet a few people haveing issues keeping them alive as slings and more than likely will be when I purchase one is there anything that can be done to keep them healthy.

Fuzzball79

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member