• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

hmmm

Down with OBT

3 Year Member
been a long time, but just got back in the hobby.
last weekend I picked up
B. albopilosum
P. fasciata
and
P. murinus RCF

So I guess I'm a hobbyist err I mean addicted again.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Welcome back. I agree, that's a great choice of Ts to start with.

jsolis770

3 Year Member
When buying a spider i was told not to get the "OBT" because of the speed and could crawl out of its deli cup...oh well. Ended up buying a pinkish colored gporteri/rosie

Down with OBT

3 Year Member
how does one explain fast to someone who hasn't seen the "fast" ones before? They are faster than you can imagine, but not faster than your brain can react. Kind of like a hunter you'll have to give them a "lead" to recapture if they escaped, or wait till they stop running.

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
When buying a spider i was told not to get the "OBT" because of the speed and could crawl out of its deli cup...oh well. Ended up buying a pinkish colored gporteri/rosie
And well.... the venom . Just Google OBT bites and you'll find why they're an advanced level tarantula.

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Yup we have noobs all the time saying how much they want one. Its the combination of the bright orange coloration and the attitude that makes them appealing to most of these people. They start off with a sling, and before they know it, they find themselves in over their heads. Especially during rehouses.

PamCz

3 Year Member