• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Help me ID! Just found a tarantula in my garden in Brazil (Belo Horizonte)

soup_salad

20200820_212645.jpg

I think it might be a Brazilian Red (Nhandu carapoensis), but I want to be sure. I'm completely new to tarantulas, never thought of keeping one! But it seems very interesting. Any help or tips would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Rs50matt

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
I would agree with you being a Nhandu Carapoensis. It’s juvenile so isn’t as dark as an adult will be but then it’s been in the thick of it in the wild so wouldn’t expect it to look as pristine as captive bred yet. Enclosure looks good. The advantage you have is you could use sub from your garden. It’s where it came from :)

soup_salad

I would agree with you being a Nhandu Carapoensis. It’s juvenile so isn’t as dark as an adult will be but then it’s been in the thick of it in the wild so wouldn’t expect it to look as pristine as captive bred yet. Enclosure looks good. The advantage you have is you could use sub from your garden. It’s where it came from :)

Thanks a lot! I'm so happy it's juvenile! I was worried it might be old and wouldn't last too long hahaha. Good to know about the dirt. Hopefully it's female. Guess I'll have to wait and see.

Rs50matt

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
IMG_4589.JPG

This is our Carapoensis. She's in premoult now and will get a little bigger. Not as big as a chromatus but I think get to a good 6-7 inches dls (dls - diagonal leg span, tip of front leg to top of opposite back leg.)

Rs50matt

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
They get a decent size. Yours will look just as dark after it's next moult.