• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello

N'owl

3 Year Member
I'm N'owl and I am very new to keeping spiders. Over the years I've had/ cared for Leopard Geckos, beardies, Jacksons and Veiled Chameleons, tortoises and the like. I have avoided tarantulas due to my fear of them. My son has recently discovered them and has expressed a deep interest in getting one. We have been reading, researching and talking to different reptile people for the last few weeks. I didn't think he was serious..I was way wrong. I am looking forward to learning more about them and hopefully getting advice on making the best decision for him when the time comes to actually get one.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi N'owl. There a quite a few of us on here that have had or still have a fear of spiders including me. Now I find the Ts don't worry me but I still don't like the spiders loose in the house. You will definitely get loads of good advice on here.

elektragrl

3 Year Member
Hello and welcome!! I'm right there with you Enn49 I love my Tarantulas but don't like them free in the house. I do have to say that joke about potato chips apples to Tarantulas. You can't stop at just one. An for a first time tarantula a rose hair or a Mexican red knee are good for when the time comes :) (in my opinion)

AndrewBush89

3 Year Member