• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

GBB Enclosure question

Matthew

3 Year Member
So I am new to the hobby. In my "Hello" intro thread I asked for advice on a first T and got lots of great suggestions which helped me to do more research. Fast forward to earlier this week and my family (who initially didn't like the idea of me getting a pet spider) surprised me for my birthday with a Tarantula.... sort of. My wife and kids were not at all sure of what to buy or where so they gave me the money and thier blessing to pick one out and buy it for my birthday.

I am very excited and have decided I really want a GBB. I plan to get a sling with the starter kit from FearNot so the first month or two its habitat is all set. I am pretty comfortable on what I need once it out grows the starter house and needs an intermediate enclosure before getting it full grown adult digs. Where I struggle is what would be best for a full grown adult. I understand the general guidance but my question is about which one of two specific enclosures would be most appropriate. I have read that GBBs are terrestial but also that some describe them as semi aboreal. I really like the Exo Terra enclosures so I want to know which of these two other GBB owners think would be most approriate or should I be looking at something else entirely. The Exo Terra enclosures I am looking at are the 24Lx18Wx12H and the 24Lx18Wx18H.

Given that the ET enclosure gives what looks to be about 3" of room for substrate; Would the one that is 18" high be too high for this spider? Are they decent climbers or would an enclosure that tall present a fall risk for it? Thanks in advance. This place has been an awesome resource for this noob. (and sorry for the long winded post)

Metalman2004

3 Year Member