• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Boehmei doesn't eat

Arachne

3 Year Member
Hey everyone

This is my first time caring for a tarantula and I have a brachypelma boehmei L4 sling. I had her/him about a month ago but she/he has been refusing to eat. I have searched about the reason a lot but I really do not know why. It is impossible he/she is in pre-molt. I saw a black spot on its abdomen and now it is disappearing gradually. The abdomen started to get smaller as well. I gave mealworms but it got scared or just did nothing. I cant leave them in the tank because they hide under the peat. It's been a month and I'm getting really worried and frustrated. I thought maybe the mealworm was too big for it to eat and cut the worm with a knife but it didn't work either. Here, in Turkey, it is hard to find live bait other than mealworms. I think I need some guidance from experienced tarantula keepers. I can take a photo of my T and post here if it is needed.

Martin Oosthuysen

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Hey everyone