• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Bio enclosure

Stat

3 Year Member
Would just like some advice on what plants I should use for this and also the type of substrate. I am relatively new to spiders but have a ball python who is in a similar setup but his has 40% bark to the 60% mix of peat coco fibre and a small amount of sand. The overall idea would be for this to sit centre stage in a wall setup of my spiders so would be looking at types of T's that thrive in these setups. Cheers for any advice given.

Jess S

1,000+ Post Club
I personally feel that the best t for a bioactive is a T. stirmi or any of the Theraposa's actually. Won't burrow through the roots damaging them, nor will they web the plants up. Plus they need to be kept moist so can handle living with plants that need watering.

However, I don't think you'd be able to get a large stirmi enclosure on a wall.....

Timmy T

Would just like some advice on what plants I should use for this and also the type of substrate. I am relatively new to spiders but have a ball python who is in a similar setup but his has 40% bark to the 60% mix of peat coco fibre and a small amount of sand. The overall idea would be for this to sit centre stage in a wall setup of my spiders so would be looking at types of T's that thrive in these setups. Cheers for any advice given.
I have my psalmopoeus pulcher af in a bioactive

Attachments

• IMG_20200305_101700_287.jpg
    IMG_20200305_101700_287.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 18

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
I have been thinking about a bio set up with a water feature for a Hysterocrates gigas. Which will take small fish & spend time within the water.