1. Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Avic staying at bottom of cage

Discussion in 'Avicularia' started by Freddy_T, Mar 7, 2018.

1. Freddy_T

Freddy_T New Member

Hi guys.. I have a quick question.. I have a juvenile pink toe and for days now she/he hasn't been climbing at all that I've seen. It does climb on the decorations in the cage but not to the top. When I first got him/her it was always at the top. Now it's always at the bottom.. Even under a log that's in the cage. I didn't expect this from an arboreal tarantula.. But I am very new at this. Could something be wrong?
  2. ALD

ALD Active Member

Hmmm you have only had her a few days? Could be distressing and getting used to the enclosure. Perhaps someone else would have more insight. That is my thought though.
  3. MassExodus

MassExodus Well-Known Member 1,000+ Post Club

ALD is right, spiders can take up to a month to get used to their new houses. And avics are weird to begin with. I wouldn't worry too much, give it a few weeks to get settled in ;)
  4. Arachnoclown

Arachnoclown Well-Known Member

An Avic on the ground doesn't sit well with me...a picture of your enclousure would be nice.
    MassExodus likes this.
  5. Dustin Amack

Dustin Amack Well-Known Member