• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

absolute noob question on feeding.

Kymura

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Problem, my slings are absolute pigs, always hungry and always willing to jump on whats given to them, they have been on the pinhead roaches, unfortunately they (the roaches and the slings) were very cold when they delivered and I lost a good amount of them (roaches) in the shipping so consequently I am nearly out of the pinhead roaches.
I've been on the phone all morning and cannot seem to find anything small for them, what is available in my area are: regular size crickets, wax worms, superworms and regular size meal worms.
Can I give them a half or a piece of a mealworm while I order some more for them?

Last edited:

timc

3 Year Member
You sure can. Tarantulas are opportunistic scavengers and will happily accept pre killed prey. You might not get the great attacks from the little guys but at least they'll be fed. I have a teeny tiny pumpkin patch that's about an 8th the size of the rest of my spiders and I often just remove a leg from one of the crickets one of the big guys is getting and I haven't had a complaint yet:)

Kymura

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Of course you can:) I remember the first time I cut a Roach I was like ewww lol
Thanks so much, it's far better hearing it from here and knowing that its alright, I trust you all so I feel better about it now ^^
I'm totally in love with these little guys so wanted to be sure , (but I think I'll make my son cut them up ) lol :)

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
You can either do that or offer prekilled. Slings are eating machines. IMO it's not really possible to overfeed one. They'll stop eating eventually anyway.

Kymura

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member