• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Possible DKS?

InternetSwag

3 Year Member
ywc2Ovx.jpg

I got this T. Ockerti about 3 weeks ago. Mature Female. Day 1 was fine, fed her a Dubia and she chowed it.
Other week she just seemed to rotate around, Tarantulaing.

Now for the last few days she moved from her corkbark into this position and won't move. If she does move it's very erratic, almost like a spasm rather than a movement. This is obviously stress posture, but why? She was fine for weeks, the dubia she ate was from the guy who had her before me. She have water etc.

This is my first time encountering anything like this. She is on a shelf with my other T's, minimal disturbance etc.

Arachnoclown

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Heres some good reading...

InternetSwag

3 Year Member
So he is still in the same condition.
I reached out to the previous owner. He said that it did the exact same thing with him, he thought it was going to die. But then it molted. But did the same thing after.
Idk. Feels hopeless tbh. Like imma just watch him slowly die and cant do nothing

Domondios

Just to clarify, this is a male or a female? Based on your original post.

I would assume molting, but if it's been like that even after a molt, then I'd research the species a bit more to find anything that you can relate to. Best of luck and keep us informed

Jess S

1,000+ Post Club
If I were in your shoes I'd spend the next couple days concentrating on getting the t to drink to rule out dehydration. Shallow full water dish right next to it, preferably with its mouth positioned over it if you can coax it to move. Then leave it be. But don't let the dish dry out.