• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie Here

Malcspring

Hello folks,
I am a new tarantula keeper, so please bear with me if I ask any dumb questions.
My tarantula is a Mexican Red Knee. A friend of mine who used to have one recommended it as he said they were probably the best one to get for a newbie like me.
I have got a trivarium all set up with Coco husk substrate and have created a little den where it can hide away, but since it transferred it into the new home I have attached a heater mat on to the back wall of the trivarium, but the spider is hugging the back wall where the heater mat is.
My living room is currently around 22 degrees.
I could do with a thermometer/hydrometer in the actual tank so I can regulate the exact environment.
Can anyone recommend an accurate thermometer (digital preferably) that I could put in the tank?
My heater mat is controlled by a separate control unit and I have the sensor in the trivarium.
Apologies for all the questions, but I want to make sure that my tarantula is as comfortable as possible.
Thanks
Malc

mrsoul1974

3 Year Member
Hello, and welcome!

You probably do not need the heat mat as long as the room temperature doesn't get any cooler than 22 degrees C (70 degrees F). The rule of thumb is that if you are comfortable with the temperature in the room, your tarantula proabably is, too. I would leave a water dish inside the enclosure, as well. (if you don't leave a dish or your T keeps flipping it over or burying it, then soak one corner of the enclosure once weekly. Brachypelmas tend to like it dry. I hope this helps. Best of luck to you!

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hello and welcome.
My living room rarely gets above 22C and my Ts do fine with no extra heat.