• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New Tarantula

Iya

3 Year Member
Hi,
I am new to the spider world, I have always been terrified of them, but for some reason become more interested. I am a preschool teacher and thought that a tarantula would be a great pet and a great addition to the science area. I did research before I purchased one, and found that a terrestrial species would be the best. After searching all the pet stores in my area I finally found a 8 month Chilean Copper. He is no bigger than 2 inches, may be a little smaller. My son instantly fell in love, named him Louie, and asked to keep him.
So, now with a new pet in my home, he is in a 10 gal. tank with Eco earth substrate. A mini heat mat under the tank, and a 50 watt infrared light above. The only thing in his tank besides the water dish is a hide.
Well, the first night he stood on the cooler side of the tank leaning up against the glass. He finally found his hide, made a web on the ground inside the web and has not left since. I have offered food, but he has not eaten. I looked up his behavior on the web and there isn't much info on the Chilean copper. I purchased him 6 days ago.
Any advice?

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member