• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Moulting

Louise Rowbotham

3 Year Member
Hi,
I bought a Mexican red knee tarantula on Sunday 11th October. On the first night of having the spider it moulted. It was abit of a shock but all fine. This morning I got up and my spider was on his back moulting (I think/hope) again. Is this normal with in a 2 week period? The spider is around 8 month old. I am a beginner so although I have done a lot of reading up this is still new to me. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Entity

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
If that is the spider in ur pic then it is older than 2 months. Mine is almost 3 years old and is only about 2 inches dls. But i have never heard of a spider that big molting that frequently...slings yes. just make sure it has water and keep an eye on it....all u can do. good luck. let us know.

Louise Rowbotham

3 Year Member
Thank you for responding.

My spider is 8 months old.
I have spoken to a spider expert at my local museum that keeps spiders who told me that he does not think my spider is moulting if no signs are showing of this in a 24 hours period. He did say that this dosen't sound good so we are expecting the worst :( We are going to monitor him for the next 24 hours and keep him hydrayted.

Will keep you posted.

Denny Dee

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
I have raised a B. smithi and was surprised at the short span between molts while young. I do agree that it is unusual for an older T to do this. I am wondering what you are keeping the humidity at? Many keepers, especially pet shops, view smithi's as desert T's and never provide water or proper humidity in the enclosure. If you have a decent humidity level, it may have sparked a molt and the T is playing catch up especially if you have been power feeding?