• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Mould in tank help!!

Why is mould coming in my tank

• Any response please

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • All advice appreciated

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Antonygill91

3 Year Member
I am a beginner I have had a Chilean rose for around a month now and keep finding mould in the tank I don't know why??? Ive been to pet shop and they say it's because I am putting to much water in his water bowl but I haven't touched his water bowl. Is humidity is high also it's around 75% and it wiant get lower is this because where I am I'm experiencing a hot summer? I have changed his substrate to some ready made substrate you can buy from pet stores ( Pete ) cleaned the tank with correct cleaning products ( from pet stores ) and put fresh Pete in around 6 inch deep and it's come back can anyone help why it keeps coming back?

Denny Dee

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
At 75% humidity, you will have an ongoing battle. I mix vermiculite into the substrate (about 30%) to aid in draining and because it is organically sterile. I would probably change it all out and start over and monitor things from there. I have recently been testing isopods in my T. blondi tank because they LOVE humidity and moisture. So far, the isopods seem to be doing their job as a cleaner crew.

adz07

3 Year Member
i was going to say the same about humidity, from research i did it said ideally aim fro around 60 to 65% humidity but i am new to this myself so i could be wrong, i have my substrate practically dry and rely on the water dish for humidity

MatthewM1

3 Year Member