• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Limb regeneration

Randal M.

Hello,
My little P. Regalis came to me with 7 legs. It has molted for the first time, in my care, and has started to regenerate its missing leg. However this new leg is not only smaller, it looks to be of no use and a little weird looking. Will it continue to grow a bigger version of this "bum wheel"? Or will it molt a bigger useful version? I'm just wondering if in order to grow a new good leg, does this bad one need amputation. Ty, very much for any advice. Sorry if I'm not posting this correctly, I'm new to T's and forums.

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
We have had a few T's with 7 legs, having purchased a few of The Spider Shops excellent gimp mystery boxes.

What has happened with all of ours is that the first molt has produced a leg that is thin. But the second molt has produced a leg which is indistinguishable from the other 7.

Randal M.

We have had a few T's with 7 legs, having purchased a few of The Spider Shops excellent gimp mystery boxes.

What has happened with all of ours is that the first molt has produced a leg that is thin. But the second molt has produced a leg which is indistinguishable from the tyvm

What has happened with all of ours is that the first molt has produced a leg that is thin. But the second molt has produced a leg which is indistinguishable from the other 7.
Thank you very much for your reply. It also puts me at ease know that this is coming from a person with experience in this exact circumstance. I guess I'll know something soon enough when it molts again. Can't imagine that being too far off considering the lil regalis is only about 1.5" right now.

tarantulas118