• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Lights (Reptile, Basking, Day/Night) or Ceramic Heat Emitter? Help.

silentarantula

3 Year Member
as i'm a new arachnids hobbyist. i already visualized my "one year later" arachnids room which i already have a room to convert into. it will have space heater, fans, humidifier in that room. i can't do that now just for small space of collection.

but speaking of now, the reality... i have tarantulas and scorpions that can fit a small folding table, 4 or 5 feet wide. most of tarantulas are still in deli cups (5oz. to 32oz.) and an adult female. my scorpions are in two separated 10 gallon aquarium tank. right now they are just scattered around my second kitchen counter with two inflared heat red lamp - 40w which currently put 82s degree a foot high from counter and goes 76s when i raise the lamps toward 18 inches higher.

would a light or heat emitter well-above the table have enough heat to feed that open space? should i add small "mimicking" plywood as a wall on sides of folding table to keep heat toward the tarantulas/scorpions? should i amped up higher (50-75 watts to feed heat alone 4 feet space)?

hope i explain it clear way i try to ask.

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Most tarantulas don't need a separate heat source, if your room is warm enough for you then it's warm enough for them. If their room is particularly cold you could use a room heater but an overhead light/heat emitter will dry their containers out very quickly.

silentarantula

3 Year Member