• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hobbyist opening a new store

Xroads

HI all

I am a long time bug lover, but have only been a passing hobbyist.

I am opening a new store and will carry saltwater, freshwater, reptiles, amphibians, carnivorous plants, & BUGS!

I have extensive experience in retail, and aquatic stores, but only hobby experience for bugs.

So, give me any advice you may have, favorite vendors I can buy from, and your view of the bug market in general.

Thanks
Craig

Enn49

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
Hi Craig, welcome to the forum and good luck with your new venture :). I'm sorry I can't help with sellers as I'm in the UK

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
As far as sellers with large selections that I have dealt with, Joe Rossi is the one I would talk to (I think he is a member here, just not active here, though he is active on another). He has the largest selection.

MassExodus

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
My best advice is: Treat the forums as a hobbyist would, check vendor reviews, classifieds(a lot of the online dealers with wide selections advertise in our classifieds. Well, some). Arachnoboards is a much bigger forum, with a larger selection. For other inverts try fauna classifieds. Spiders will be your main seller, probably. People also like whipspiders, scorpions, centipedes, millipedes and feeder roaches. Welcome to TF and I wish you luck with your business, hope to see your ads soon!

Whitelightning777

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Do both retail and mail order. Set up a YouTube page and keep lots of fresh videos on it. Also sell quality enclosures such as Terra Blue professional series and ExoTerra. I can't wait to see what you have & buy something.

Last edited:

Metalman2004

3 Year Member