• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello group

gregprice29

Hello everyone ,
I'm VERY new to the T hobby. I have a adult 5.5 inch female confirmed by molt Brachypelma boehmei
. I have bred ball pythons and few boas for last 5 years. So I'm not new to husbandry, but this my first T. Me and son are changing our hobby to tarantulas.. I really am enjoying this group so far. Thanks for letting me join.

My first dumb question.......I just received my new enclosure. I was keeping her in a small plastic box from dollar store. I was able to catch her in a large handled cup ( pretty easy, I was little scared) my problem is it's been over an hour and she is still inside the catch cup.i put cup with her inside and left them in new enclosure. Should I pull her out some how or leave her alone.

Thanks Greg

DustyD

1,000+ Post Club
Tarantula Club Member
If she has not come out already, let her be. Every time I have rehoused a T it has taken time to adjust, usually by clinging to a wall for a long time.

Some people use plastic catch cups with holes poked in the bottom and use paint brushes to gently prod the T out. I guess you could do that from the mouth if the cup too.

I usually gently push the T’s butt as most times using the legs gets me a defensive response. Watch Dave’s Little Beasties on YouTube, he has a great way with tarantulas.

Come to think of it, I think he managed to get a reluctant T moving by gently pressing a side of the paint brush above the bristles on the Ts legs.

Recently I tried to move one of my G. pulchra in order to get a beheaded super worm that slipped down a crack. Nothing doing. I pressed her butt and she just flicked hairs. I let her be and got the worm later.

m0lsx

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member