• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hello, getting into the hobby! Have an important question.

Saya

3 Year Member
Hello Everyone greetings from the Netherlands. This is not my first but only my second spider so i am still new at spiders, the last spider i purchuased was sold to me as 100% guaranteed to be female and still turned out to be a male. Since i won't be keeping more than 1 or max 2 spiders (i have my hands full with my snakes) i really want a female this time around. I really like Grammostola's and went to a shop to get one, they had a nice 7 month old pulchripes that they sold as female. I have tried to compare pictures of 'her' underside to pictures on the web but i'm not getting anywhere, i would really appreciate any help! If it turns out to be a male i have to return this spider asap and get a female in return. (i'm praying it's a female, such a nice disposition, very nice change from my really agressive male Pulchra, that and the store is a 1,5h drive away.)

Also uploading a picture of the habitat, (yes i know the skulls are a bit 'kitsch', wasn't my choice haha). The spider seems comfortable, the little plant keeps humidity at around 60/65%, and there is a burrow but (s)he doesn't use it. Anything i should add/remove?

LiQl783jjoYiG0QmA2Gt07XtDjvjVke7gdpi6CPNGMY.png
MhnwHgrXt3d94OaPWFrjlCv8ION_ln8fM3NojUwniOw,stcLFaABkGhDS2u3bUVyDJP1CtM4crXat2uXuAMyU_k.jpg

Ghost

3 Year Member
I agree with HungryGhost from your photo it looks like a male but can't be 100% sure.