• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Handeling the insects + not eating

Hello guys,
I'm new in this whole business, more precisely I've got my fist tarantula last Thursday (a green bottle blue sling), soo I have two problems:

1. This may sound stupid but I kinda struggle with his food. I'm working with such "little silent brown crickets" and a pair of long tweezers. So kind of don't wanna hurt them, I know this sounds silly cause there were born to be fed. But I just can't grab there little bodies with the tweezers… does this sound familiar to anyone? If yes, how do you handle it?

2. As already mentioned I have a chromatopelma cyaneopubescens sling and since I got him, a week ago, he hasn't eaten anything. He also molted on Sunday evening. I believe it's normal to not eat before a molting…
but it's been a while now… I'm a little worried.

Henri (thats his name) built his web in the top right corner and I'm not sure if he even notices the crickets. He should feel their movements, right? But since he set one foot in this corner the only thing he did was webbing (and molting). Is it possible that he does not know that there is food down there?

Balfouriboi

3 Year Member
It can take a while for a tarantula to be fully hardened, let him do his thing and I’d say in a few days he should eat again. Also it’s fine if he doesn’t eat for a little while he will be fine, but if you are very stressed about this go ahead and pre kill a cricket and leave it on his web that will always get mine to eat.

PanzoN88

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member