• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Beautiful new tarantula! What can I expect from a tropical species?

Allthingsterrarium

3 Year Member
Hi guys! It's been a while since I've posted! My cousin moved out of state yesterday and considering she's going to be staying with friends who have kids she felt it probably wasn't a good idea to bring along her three tarantulas. Two of them are finding new homes now and she gave me her Brazilian red and white tarantula (nhandu chromatus) I'm going to ask her about the specific care requirements but I thought it would probably wise to also ask you guys. I have no experience with tropical tarantulas, let alone this species or genus. I've only kept two species so far and that is my current two, a Mexican fireleg and Mexican red knee. Both desert species. What can I expect from a rainforest tarantula and what is the best way to care for a red and white? I'm mostly concerned about humidity. Should I just mist with a spray bottle like for a tropical lizard or snake? I doubt I did but have a vague memory of hearing that it's best not to get water droplets on a tarantula's hairs. Maybe I just assumed that since I wondered if humidity would stick to them.

Allthingsterrarium

3 Year Member