• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Should I dig her up and clean the enclosure or not? DILEMMA please help!

suzanne

Hi!

I need some advice / tips for my new Grammostola pulchra (female, 2 years old).
I am new to this hobby and spent a few months getting as much information as possible. Sunday I got my first 2 T’s and I’m super happy!

The day before yesterday I moved the G pulchra to her new terrarium that I bought from the breeder. The breeder said that the terrarium is a bit on the bigger side, but still okay. I have filled the terrarium with a lot of coco fiber from low to high at the back, so that the G pulchra is less likely to fall. After rehousing her, she seemed a bit tense, and occasionally dug herself in.
Yesterday she was half in her burrow and I could still see her pretty well, so I tried to offer her some food for the first time. I gave her a superworm (about the size and thin of her leg). She grabbed it and she moved her legs and palps in a subtle way for about 30 seconds / 1 minute and after that I couldn't see the superworm anymore. I'm not sure if she actually ate the superworm. It is now clear to me that I have to look for the superworm (if it has not been eaten) because it could be dangerous for her.