• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Pink Salmon Bird Eater

I am a beginner but I have handled many reptiles including helping with venomous snakes. I have done a lot of research and I know the potency of a pink salmon bird eater is high and causes harsh symptoms but they are not very aggressive/defensive as others. Of course, every T has it's own personality and limits. I won't be handling it as I don't want to experience urticating hair or risk a bite if I don't have to. Do you think if I am very careful and cautious this would be a decent first tarantula with a lot of procaution?

I really love the big T's. I had a jumping spider for a year but it passed of old age. I mean she/he had a full happy life so I think I did well and I am ready to raise a T.

Sorry if I as a lot of questions or sound stupid but I want as many people's advice, thoughts, and opinions as possible. I don't take getting a pet lightly as it is a long commitment.

Oursapoil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Tarantula Club Member
There are no such things as stupid questions and you are in the right place as this forum is filled with people genuinely happy to help.
A LP (Lasidoria parahybana) is a great first tarantula. They are fairly solid beast, with a voracious appetite and a fast growing speed. As a sling/juvenile she will likely dig or hide very often but stays out more and more as her size will increase. Keep in mind that an LP won't be waiting for a second of inattention to viciously attack you. If bothered she will either retreat or dust you some urticating hairs first. If you insist on bothering her or if she feels cornered threaten she will switch to a threat posture. If all the warning were not enough you won't be able to blame her for a bite :)