• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

newbie. Mexican red leg/ Green bottle blue owner

sym

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
hi guys/girls.
as the title says i'm a newbie to Mexican red leg and green bottle blue tarantulas. 15 yrs ago i owned a male Chilean rose who i looked after for about 2 yrs before he died. He was a large male when i got him and moulted once in my care.he was very active and like being handled.
So I've had both my new T's for nearly a week . The Mexican red leg is the biggest of the two and i think if im measuring right is roughly 3-3.5 inch. and the GBB is roughly 2.5-3 inch. we know the MRL is a female but the sex of the GBB is unknown as yet.

I've a few questions if some kind person doesn't mind answering them for me please ;)

1. i don't see much of my spiders is this normal?
2. none of my spiders have made any kind of webbing is this normal.
3.GBB's sex is unknown is there anything i can look for? (next moult)?

Thanks for stopping by
sym. any question please ask.

Jesse254

3 Year Member
Welcome to the forum:

1. My Mexican Red Leg is out quite a bit. My GBB is almost always webbed in so do not see it much. All are different even if the same species.
2. Some of my make lots of web and some hardly any.
3. Read the sexing your tarantula section

sym

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
hi jesse254. ive only had the spiders for nearly a week. maybe im just being inpatient lol.
maybe im comparing these to my old chilean rose . he was always on the move and web making.

thanks for your reply
sym..

newtots

3 Year Member
1. i was told that any tarantula under 2 inches hides a lot for security.. i almost never see mine and i have 5.