• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Need some helpful info about heating/ T. Temperament. [Please Delete]

ierydeary

3 Year Member
Hi all! I'm a new T owner and I'm a little concerned about a few things about my new rosey.

First of all, her enclosure stays at about 70 with her heat pad. It is winter and it can drop to a little below 60 at night, but its averages at 70-75 during the day. I also live in WA state, so the cold air is normal. But obviously not for her. So I was wondering; is she okay at this until Spring/Summer? I do want to get a lamp, just in case. She does have a heat pad, but it does not make things too hot. It's on the side of her terrarium, too.

Another question I have is about her temperament. I've never owned a T before this, so I have no experience to work with. I got a rose hair specifically because I wanted a mellow one that is at least all right being handled every so often. ( Yes I know that many many people think this is unwise, even so; I know the risks to myself and to her but I am just so fascinated with holding her and touching her. I am -VERY- careful and have only held her twice and briefly a third time when cleaning her enclosure.) The problem is that she seems to be a little irritable. Lately she has been very bitey. Not like lunge and bite but. She'll reach for the soft straw I use to nudge her to test her mood, and she'll hold it. And if I don't pull it away, she bites it. Once she did this, realized it wasn't alive and then left it alone and was perfectly calm. But the past two weeks she has done it but won't let go of the straw.

Does she perhaps think it is food? Do they grab and bite when defensive? Is she potentially just an aggressive tarantula, despite being a rosehair?