• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Help please. Identification help would be appreciated.

RIsurfcaster

3 Year Member
Please don't hate me for this, but I caved and bought a tarantula hut at petco. The scientific names are tiny, and the common name is much more readable. I thought I was buying a salmon pink bird eater. When I brought it home, the scientific name was... P. Muticus. Two very different species. I think it's actually P Muticus, but I'm just getting into this. Could someone I'd this for me please? Ps. Thanks for all you guys contribute here, I've learned so much.

Attachments

• IMG_0255.JPG
    IMG_0255.JPG
    700.5 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_0254.JPG
    IMG_0254.JPG
    527.4 KB · Views: 24

RIsurfcaster

3 Year Member
And just to show what I mean. This is with the zoom on my camera. I couldnt read the scientific name in store.

Attachments

• IMG_0258.JPG
    IMG_0258.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 21

RIsurfcaster

3 Year Member
I should also add that I called corporate petco and informed them of this big mistake. Huge difference in those 2 species. The person asked for my email address and said that they'd keep me informed on whatever actions are taken. While I'm not holding my breath, I'm hopeful.

SpiderDad61

3 Year Member
If u look at the printing, they just printed P muticus twice....both under "king baboon" where it's supposed to b and also where ur talking about. It's a tiny sling, but as I've raised a dozen L parahybaba( salmon pink bird eater), it does look like one, with that hairy little butt. It doesn't look anything like a p muticus sling, as I've had one of those also

RIsurfcaster

3 Year Member