• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Fate had Other Plans

NorseDad

I'm relatively new to the hobby. I've been keeping for almost exactly a year. I had 15 tarantulas before last night. All of them were NW slings with the exception of my mature female N. incei gold, my 3.5" A. seemanni, and my singular OW: a 2" C. marshalli.

I feel like I've been very lucky with my C. marshalli. It has not been defensive or very skittish since I got it. Even my last rehouse was a breeze. It's grown my confidence. I decided to get some feisty NWs as stepping stones. I ended up buying a sexed female 3" P. aratus. I think the species is absolutely gorgeous. I'm totally blown away by how much I love it.

Now for the fun part. I have a year long history with this breeder. They are local, I've helped with advice for their website, over 75% of my collection was purchased from them. We have a relationship where they will hold things for me, order for me, and hunt for imports for me. So, when I met to pick up this beautiful P. aratus, my friend decided to "give me the hook up". As freebies, I got another T. albopilosus sling (who doesn't find bed head cute) and...an OBT sling!

I'm not going to lie, I'm nervous. I've seen these things in action on videos, so I feel like I know what to expect. I do feel like providing an adequate enclosure with good hides will make life easier. Does anyone have any tips or advice for me?

Phil

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
I'm relatively new to the hobby. I've been keeping for almost exactly a year. I had 15 tarantulas before last night. All of them were NW slings with the exception of my mature female N. incei gold, my 3.5" A. seemanni, and my singular OW: a 2" C. marshalli.