• Are you a Tarantula hobbyist? If so, we invite you to join our community! Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your pets and enclosures and chat with other Tarantula enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Do you know what tarantula this is?

Lizzy

3 Year Member
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
image.jpeg
Hello. I'm new to owning tarantulas and have recently got this little "gal"
The pet store was horrible and had no idea what kind of tarantula "she" was or had any background on her.
If you have any idea or info on what she is, it would be a big help. Thanks!

Ghost

3 Year Member
It's a H.maculata,Here's a pic of my female for comparison.
As your new to the hobby please be carefull with this T as there lightning fast and you don't want to get bitten by them as that would ruin your week for sure....

image.jpg

Psyrocke

3 Year Member
I was gonna say looks too fuzzy to be a poec. Patterning is close though. I would second @Ghost 's H. maculata though I don't own them either. But a google search of your image brought up visually similar images, many of which where H. mac's plus googling the H. mac itself:
ffc8985c68d2f375feb2a6fc60dfce16.jpg
(img from Pinterest)

Kymura

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
Pretty T regardless, I'm learning to appreciate the patterning more and more :D

Chubbs

1,000+ Post Club
3 Year Member
That's a Heteroscodra maculata aka Togo Starburst Baboon. I wouldn't advise getting it unless you have tons of experience with OW's. H.maculata are widely considered the 2nd most venomous tarantula just behind S.calceatum. They're probably one of the fastest species I've personally worked with.

swimbait

3 Year Member
You got yourself a hell of a tarantula. You just baught one of the fastest and most potent species you can own. They aren't to be taken likely. Be careful and enjoy your new demon

Nicolas C

3 Year Member